Yes (Spring, Randomness, and Writing)

About a few minutes ago, I decided that this “blog” doesn’t really need a specific thing to write on. So I’m not going to force myself on doing that. It’s more of a semi journal meets musings meets random articles that I think about while taking a shower, making food, walking to the bus stop, waiting for the next train, etc. And I’m ok with that. If I decide that it needs a better direction, then I’ll just go for it.

 

And, hello, spring! I can tell you’re going to kick my butt, and I say bring it! My sleep has become more erratic, and just odd: it seems that the earlier I sleep, the later I end up waking up. And I feel like a McGrump Face for quite a few hours. But I can’t sleep too early. If I went to bed at like 10 or 11, then I’ll end up waking up at 2 or 3, and not going back to sleep until 7. I just can’t win. I’ll figure something out, though.

 

I got Stephen King’s On Writing a few weeks ago, and I’ve been reading it every chance I get. It’s one of the best books I’ve read on how to write a novel (or a short story, or whatever). But I tend to not read those kinds of books, as they tend to be written by people who usually DON’T write books, like editors and what have you. And I know that Stephen King isn’t the authority on book writing, but I have always been impressed by his consistency. And there’s a lot of things in the book that I totally agree with. 

So I’m setting myself up for a schedule. I really do need to start treating my writing as if it were a job. So far, I’ve written nearly 4,000 words. The goal is to write 1,000 words a day. And that’s not really a lot, but I’m building with this. I want to be able to get to a point where 1,000 is so easy. So I set another goal. And another. And another. And pretty soon I’ll be able to complete projects in months, not years.

So I’ve dug around, and decided to start writing that novella. And it feels like garbage, but I do my best to quell my inner critic. I remind myself whenever I feel like something I write is garbage, I remember something really good that I wrote and remember that I most likely spent some time rewriting that. I’m just pushing myself to go through this. The actual writing isn’t uncomfortable, I think it’s more of the subject matter and the fact that the words typed on the screen aren’t exactly how the scenes, characters, dialogue, is in my head. And that’s OK, because once I’m done, I’ll be able to write it over and bring it closer.

Stephen King mentions writing with the door closed, and rewriting with the door open. What he means is when you first write, it’s all very private. No one knows what you’re doing except you. You put it all out there, as foul and as uncomfortable and as politically incorrect as you wish. If you want to sound pretentious and snotty, go for it. But once the rewrite comes, you do it with the world watching. Maybe you realize that what you thought was flowery prose was just nonsense. And that’s OK too.

Leave a Reply

