Random

I like to burn incense. I think I got it from my grandmother. She was always burning frankincense (I didn’t realize this until after she died and started buying frankincense incense).

There’s a lovely health food store a few blocks from my house that is somewhat ridiculously expensive but I go there anyway because it’s closer than Trader Joe’s and I want to support black /local businesses sells packs of 100 incense(s?) for four bucks. Which is a bit of a steal, if you ask me!

So I buy that. And some kush (incense!) along with some essential oils that I burn in my diffuser, both to help me wake up/relax/open up my chakras.  And I’ll burn a combination of those throughout the day. Mainly the oil because it lasts longer and after a while the incense smokes starts to burn my eyes…

So, um, apparently, before my boyfriend’s family member (lol I’ve been watching too much daytime television) got kicked out, one of the reasons why they didn’t like me is because I was always burning frankincense and in her ignorant religious mind, I was clearly doing some kind of devilry on my boyfriend.

*head desk*

Ok, so I became really interested in witchcraft when I was younger, especially for my novel, which deals with witchcraft. Frankincense is definitely not something you use to “control” someone. If that were the case, why does the Catholic Church use it? Oh, that’s right, it’s for clearing a space!

And seriously, I’ve matured past the age of thinking I could put spells on people. I’ve watched The Craft enough times to know that stuff doesn’t work and that if it did there are dire consequences.  If I have to put a spell on my boyfriend to make him do what I want, then perhaps it’s time to rethink the relationship. 

Plus, if they were really that concerned about me doing witchcraft in the house, why not say something about it? I’m sure they prayed and stuff, but it’s not the same. So you accuse me of witchcraft. 

It’s. Just. Incense.

Leave a Reply

