I was at Pathmark this afternoon, wandering in the card section.  I saw the “grandma” cards,  and I thought I would get one. 

And then I realized my grandmother had been dead since 2011. I nearly cried in the store, but I held it together.  I distracted myself by looking for coconut oil (can you believe it’s nearly four dollars extra than Target?!) and being impressed with a super sharp knife demonstration. 

Still, in this winter day, I feel incredibly empty, knowing that she’s not here anymore.  Even when I got my new phone, I didn’t have the courage to delete her old number.  In fact, it’s still in the family section. 

My birthday is coming up in a few days.  When I was younger, she would give me my new age in quarters. It would have been nice to get 104 quarters this year.

Leave a Reply

