I don’t normally proclaim what I’m thankful for during the holidays. Part of me feels guilty celebrating a day with events mired in slaughter and deception. How the American Indians were murdered the day after Thanksgiving, or how Turkish Moors were strung up or put on those spittle things and roasted – yes, that’s where the “turkey” came from. This time of year, I always feel a cognitive dissonance, due to the massive whitewashing.
Still, I try to reconcile by keeping my ancestors in mind during this time.
I can’t help but think how incredibly grateful I am right now. How things are falling into place and how it’s all starting to look up. All I can say us how incredibly exciting the next few weeks will be.

Leave a Reply

