Dreaming

I had a very interesting dream this morning. I was Rihanna, with full red hair regalia! I was being interviewed in my house. But my “house” looked more like that hotel in Drive. I was being called out on lying about the name of my hair color. I called it “Fire Ice,” but it’s actually called “Fire Compassion.” And then I danced to Madonna’s “Ray of Light.” I remember this song from a commercial back when I was barely a teenager. And I’m listening to the song right now, and I’m really resonating with it.

 

I’ve been interested in keeping a dream journal and interpretation for the past eleven years. It’s really interesting how dream recall becomes more cemented after writing your dreams down. There have been way too many times where I’ve gotten u and done other things, thinking, “Oh, I’ll just write it down when I have time,” only to realize it escaped me immediately after waking up.

I’ve had dreams about celebrities before, but I’ve never actually been one before. So this morning, after I had this dream, I researched a little bit about what being a celebrity could mean. I came across a number of interpretations, but the ones that stood out the most to me were a) you have high aspirations that may be far beyond your reach, and b) there are some characteristics of said celebrity that you either admire or dislike.

 

And I think both of these apply to me. But I want to focus on the latter. I actually did a paper on her in one of my classes before graduating – how she is constructed using the media. My opinion of her changes from time to time, but I see her as human. I obviously don’t know the whole story, but people seem to think that getting away from an abusive situation is easy. It doesn’t matter how much money or resources she has – victimization runs deep. And it can take a long time for it to get out. I don’t know if Chris Brown has changed his ways or anything. But whatever. I do admire her for consistently putting out an album every year, though. That has to be a lot of work, and then to go on tour. I totally admire her for that. I should have better work ethic.

 

And as for the song: I listened to it. Lots of space references. I often feel like I don’t belong on this earth. I’ve often said that I’m from Neptune, and a certain portion of me believes that. I don’t know if that’s true, or if I need some serious grounding…more on this later. 

Leave a Reply

